Login  |  Register
Nissanhelp.com - All About Nissan
Do-It-Yourself Maintenance Owners Manuals Recalls/Campaigns Service Bulletins Service Manuals Nissan OBDII Codes Glossary & Acronyms More...
Member's Ride Photos Stock Photo Gallery
Classifieds - For Sale Classifieds - Wanted To Buy Classifieds - Mechanic Wanted Classifieds - Auto Services Search Auto Parts
Register FAQ Social Groups Mark Forums Read
Just Bought a 1994 Sentra - Service Advice Forums > > Just Bought a 1994 Sentra - Service Advice Just Bought a 1994 Sentra - Service Advice
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Sentra Nissan Sentra Discussion Forum

Old 12-13-2012, 05:11 PM
1994 Sentra

Default Just Bought a 1994 Sentra - Service Advice

Hello all! Noob here.

I just picked up a 1994 Sentra with 113,000 miles on it. It has an automatic tranny and the 1.6 engine. Got it for $900. It will be driven by my son to and from work and school.

I'm going to go over it this weekend and see what kind of TLC it needs.

One thing that does not work is the passenger side shoulder harness. From browsing here, I learned this should be covered under a lifetime warranty - is that correct?

It has power windows - all work, but not perfectly - can't complain for the price. I'm sure I'll have to replace the motor's eventually.

Slightly rough idle at stops in drive, but otherwise runs smooth and accelerates well.

What would you Sentra experts recommend maintenance wise upon acquiring and older vehicle like this one? Are there any "heads-up" issues I need to know?

Timing chain/belt, etc.?

Any advice would be appreciated. I want to make sure this vehicle is as safe and dependable as possible.

Thanks!!

John
Old 12-14-2012, 10:30 AM
Master Enthusiast
2002 Sentra
2003 Sentra
2002 Sentra GXE