Nissanhelp.com Forums

Nissanhelp.com Forums (https://x.nissanhelp.com/forums/)
-   Pathfinder (https://x.nissanhelp.com/forums/pathfinder/)
-   -   2000 Pathfinder SE: Changing the Timing Belt (https://x.nissanhelp.com/forums/pathfinder/31534-2000-pathfinder-se-changing-timing-belt.html)

famousredhead 06-21-2019 12:03 PM

2000 Pathfinder SE: Changing the Timing Belt

I'm not a mechanic but I need advice. I had a new timing belt installed 6 years ago at 96,000 mi. I don't drive the car much, in fact I have only put 15,000 mi in that 6 yr period. But those miles have been mostly on hills, and country roads.

I recently had some work done on the car and my mechanic said that I should replace it. The conversation was all in spanish and I thought he meant another part which I know had not been changed in 20 years. So I said ok. When I picked up the car, he showed me the belt and I assumed it needed to be changed or he wouldn't have told me to do it. Note: the repairs that I took it in for required him to get to the timing belt and thus when he told me it was a wise thing to replace it since he was already there and had taken other parts out to make my repairs, he should change it out for a new one and thus it would not cost any more in his mechanic fee, just for the part.

So now when I look at the belt it looks pretty good, but I'm not a mechanic. So my Q is this:

I know the belt hasn't had alot of MILES put on it, but it has been a lot of years. So does YEARS play a part in the deterioration of the belt or is it just use and miles?

Thanks for an y advice...
Sincerely,
Little Red in Costa Rica

famousredhead 06-22-2019 07:45 AM

Update and more info...please help with answer