Login  |  Register
Nissanhelp.com - All About Nissan
Do-It-Yourself Maintenance Owners Manuals Recalls/Campaigns Service Bulletins Service Manuals Nissan OBDII Codes Glossary & Acronyms More...
Member's Ride Photos Stock Photo Gallery
Classifieds - For Sale Classifieds - Wanted To Buy Classifieds - Mechanic Wanted Classifieds - Auto Services Search Auto Parts
Register FAQ Social Groups Mark Forums Read
Starter Replacement Procedure Nissan Pathfinder Forums > > Starter Replacement Procedure Nissan Pathfinder Photo Starter Replacement Procedure Nissan Pathfinder
Forgot Password? Join Us!

DIY Projects Do-It-Yourself Projects

Old 02-14-2013, 10:31 PM
2002 Pathfinder
1995 Sentra
1995 Sentra

Thumbs up Starter Replacement Procedure Nissan Pathfinder

Hi. I'm new to the forum. stopped by today and searched for starter replacement and could not find a very good step by step instruction. I'm not a mechanic but managed to change my half-Dead starter. it started acting up since last week and yesterday did not respond to the ignition at all. checked the battery and it was fine. I knocked on the starter with hammer and it did work once. failed the second time. so I just did my research and replaced it myself .

here's the details :
>> Cost of the project == $97 (starter + tax) includes lifetime warranty on the starter !
>> Time : 30-45 minutes (might be less if you know what you're doing)

1- I had problem locating the starter. it's located on the right side of the vehicle behind the oil pan (imagine you are sitting in the car facing front)

2- disconnect the - pole of the battery , then + of the battery and you're ready to rock n roll ...

3- the rest of it is really straight forward. jack up the car and get under it. starter has 2 screws attaching the starter motor to the transmission. remove those 2 screws.
also don't forget to disconnect the black cable feeding the starter.