Login  |  Register
Nissanhelp.com - All About Nissan
Do-It-Yourself Maintenance Owners Manuals Recalls/Campaigns Service Bulletins Service Manuals Nissan OBDII Codes Glossary & Acronyms More...
Member's Ride Photos Stock Photo Gallery
Classifieds - For Sale Classifieds - Wanted To Buy Classifieds - Mechanic Wanted Classifieds - Auto Services Search Auto Parts
Register FAQ Social Groups Mark Forums Read
P1446 Code Forums > > P1446 Code P1446 Code
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Altima Nissan Altima Sedan Discussion Forum

Old 10-01-2007, 12:53 PM
Erica1

Default P1446 Code

Hi I am new to this. My 98 GXE, 108,000 MILES had a service engine soon light. took to the mechanic, Code was 1446, Did smoke test also. $45.00 charge. Some smoke came out of the EGR valve . Mechanic said i need EGR valve, EGR gasket and BPT valve.

Also needed an EVAP canister and vent solenoid.. AShowed me inside hole it was like white powdery, said it was blocking, and made me smell canister, to smell gasoline, which they said is not supposed to smell. The whole job, over 800 dollars!. The car is well maintained.. dont know if its worth fixing.

Mangement changed here so i dont trust them as much as the old guys. Any advice? feel free to email me. Thank you Erica..
Old 10-01-2007, 02:53 PM
Super Moderator
2004 Xterra

My first advice is to look for another mechanic.
Old 10-01-2007, 03:03 PM
Super Moderator
2004 Xterra

The P1446 code is for the "Vent Control Valve". But the problem it is not necessary the valve, it could be a pressure sensor, canister or a water separator. Before you replace any part, you should do some tests, like the one in the attachments posted by vpnavy. There is also a bulletin for that code here: Service Bulletins Nissan Cars
Old 10-02-2007, 06:16 AM
Erica1