Login  |  Register
Nissanhelp.com - All About Nissan
Do-It-Yourself Maintenance Owners Manuals Recalls/Campaigns Service Bulletins Service Manuals Nissan OBDII Codes Glossary & Acronyms More...
Member's Ride Photos Stock Photo Gallery
Classifieds - For Sale Classifieds - Wanted To Buy Classifieds - Mechanic Wanted Classifieds - Auto Services Search Auto Parts
Register FAQ Social Groups Mark Forums Read
2006 nissan altima 2.5 bad tensioner? Forums > > 2006 nissan altima 2.5 bad tensioner? 2006 nissan altima 2.5 bad tensioner?
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Altima Nissan Altima Sedan Discussion Forum

Old 07-28-2013, 01:24 PM
2006 Altima Sedan

Default 2006 nissan altima 2.5 bad tensioner?

First off hello to everybody. I am a noob so I need all the help I can get... I am having a problem (squeeking noise) when my ac is turned on. The belt starts to flop and the belt tensioner seems to rattle. It does not rattle when the ac is turned on so I'm assuming it is the tensioner not being able to hold the tension when the compressor kicks on. Not to sure about it though. I have done numerous searches and was wondering if anybody else has had this problem. I have also read that it could be the alternator??? Please help. If it is the belt tensioner, is there a manual or picture on how to change it out. Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance. Also, is there a way to tighten the tensioner or is it automatic?

Last edited by rejects33; 07-28-2013 at 01:30 PM.
Old 07-28-2013, 02:41 PM
Tech Enthusiast
2003 Altima 2.5S

1. While securely holding the hexagonal part in pulley center of auto-tensioner, move in the direction of arrow (loosening direction of tensioner) using Tool. Tool number : (J-46535) CAUTION:
    • Avoid placing hand in a location where pinching may occur if the holding tool accidentally comes off.