Nissanhelp.com Forums

Nissanhelp.com Forums (https://x.nissanhelp.com/forums/)
-   Altima (https://x.nissanhelp.com/forums/altima/)
-   -   2012 Altima Sedan oil has red color (https://x.nissanhelp.com/forums/altima/24171-2012-altima-sedan-oil-has-red-color.html)

Gary100 01-09-2013 07:36 PM

2012 Altima Sedan oil has red color

Checking the oil level, I noticed that the oil had a red color.
The only red vehicle fluid that I know of is transmission fluid.
I have the 2.5 engine with CVT.

I'm not a mechanic but do all the maintenance on my cars.
I was not aware of a fluid path between the oil pan and the transmission.

Also, almost daily, somewhere between 25 and 35 mph, I hear a growling (grinding) sound like gears not meshing smoothly.

Any ideas or knowledge of these issues would be greatly appreciated.

NissanAltima01 01-09-2013 08:09 PM

It sounds like you have a transmission leak into the engine block if you are hearing a grinding noise on the road. Your transmission fluid is probably very low if you haven't checked. I would take care of this urgently.

Gary100 01-10-2013 08:57 AM

Nissan service manager stated that there is NO WAY for transmission fluid to leak into the engine. Can anyone verify this ?

Does the 2.5 Altima sedan with CVT use a torque converter?
If it does, could it leak fluid into the engine ?

I'm not too sure I believe the service manager since he also stated that owners CANNOT check the CVT transmission fluid level.
The Maintenance Manual (from this site) proves this to be false.

Any information is greatly appreciated.

NissanTech 01-10-2013 10:20 AM

Quote:

Nissan service manager stated that there is NO WAY for transmission fluid to leak into the engine. Can anyone verify this ?
It's possible, but very unlikely. When was the last time you change the engine oil? who did it? and what weight and brand of oil was used?

Gary100 01-10-2013 06:40 PM

I bought the car new.