Login  |  Register
Nissanhelp.com - All About Nissan
Do-It-Yourself Maintenance Owners Manuals Recalls/Campaigns Service Bulletins Service Manuals Nissan OBDII Codes Glossary & Acronyms More...
Member's Ride Photos Stock Photo Gallery
Classifieds - For Sale Classifieds - Wanted To Buy Classifieds - Mechanic Wanted Classifieds - Auto Services Search Auto Parts
Register FAQ Social Groups Mark Forums Read
Speedometer not working. Forums > > Speedometer not working. Speedometer not working.
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Maxima Nissan Maxima Discussion Forum

Old 08-09-2016, 07:38 AM
2000 Maxima

Default Speedometer not working.

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the Nissan family. I just recently purchased a 2000 maxima GLE for my daughter. It was from a neighbor who was the original owner and know the car was well maintained. Very happy with Maxima. I purchased it as is with check engine light on and speedometer not working(p0500).

With the help of this forum I was able to narrow down possible causes.

1. Vehicle Speed Sensor(not revolutionary sensor).
2. Speedometer(cluster)

I changed the VSS and no change, still no speedometer and check engine light with P0500 back.

This brings me to my main reason for posting and hoping for help. I'm now searching for a new instrument cluster but not sure which I need. The choices are with or without Traction control thru 10/99 or thru 11/99.

The car does have traction control but its the thru 10/99 or 11/99 that I don't know. I was told one wont work with the other. How do I find out? I really care less about traction control lights working or not, just want speedometer to work so no p0500 and pass inspection. Any info will be very much appreciated.

Thanks.
Dan
Old 08-09-2016, 12:25 PM
Master Enthusiast
2006 Pathfinder
2003 Frontier King Cab
2003 Frontier KC SVE 4x4