View Single Post

Old 09-13-2009, 07:42 PM
2004 Murano
2004 Murano

Default How to replace alternator in 2004 Murano.

Greetings all, This is my first ever post on this or any other message board. Please excuse any Rookie mistakes as I am new to this.

The Problem. Loud, High pitched noise from the engine compartment while the engine was running. This Noise would change volume and pitch as the enging rpm's changed. It could even be heard at highway speeds.

The Solution. After failing to diagnose which component was the issue, I finally gave in and took the auto to the Dealership for Diagnostics. There answer was the Alternator. ($650.00) And as a side note. They also diagnosed my with a failed throttle position sensor which was causing me to have an extremly dangerouse problem of no throttle response and rough engine idle at start-up. I allowed them to fix this issue because they said that they would have to program the cars computer to work with the new unit. My cost was $494.00 after tax. :( This did solve the problem however. So after spending most my cash on that repair I was relegated to doing the repair of alternator myself.

The Fix. I have taken some photos which I will try to use to show you the procedure of removing the alternator. There are a few key things you should Know first. You will need to remove alot of plastic and components to make this repair. This is not an easy repair by any stretch of the imagination. There is a reason why the Dealership charges so much for this repair. it is very time consuming (took a total of about 6 hrs for me to do it.) My hope is that you can make this repair more easily and perhaps faster with the help of this post.